The winners of the fifth annual Wally Awards

By Kyle Garcia | April 16, 2018 9:01pm
The men's cross country team won "Game of the Year" at this year's Wally Awards. Photo taken from the Portland Pilots' Twitter page.

This past Sunday, the University of Portland Athletic Department and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) held the fifth annual Wallys. The event honored and recognized the accomplishments of the teams, student-athletes and Athletics staff throughout the 2017-18 season, with the majority of nominees and award winners being presented by the student-athletes themselves.

Some athletes and coaches felt the event was marred by comments made by the emcee, Goutham Sundaram. 

Here’s a list of the winners of all 18 awards, which were voted on by mostly student-athletes as well.

Female Rookie of the Year: Taryn Ries (WSOC) and Liz Reich (VB)

Male Rookie of the Year: Emmanuel Roudolff-Levisse (MXC/TF)

Coach of the Year: Rob Conner (XC/TF)

Behind the Scenes Award: Glenna Andrews (Academic Development)

Academic Achievement Award: Brent Knutzen (XC/TF)

Pilot Cup Winner: Women’s Cross Country

Mr. Portland: Nick Hauger (MXC/TF)

Ms. Portland: Allegra Vanderwilde (WXC/TF)

Sam Bridgman Award: Rachelle Owens (WBB)

Honorary Wallys Award: Bill Reed

Most Inspirational: Brianne Zbylicki (Rowing)

Community Service Award: Women’s Soccer

Athletic Director Award: Phillip Hartwitch (MBB) and Rachelle Owens (WBB)

Male International Athlete: Michael Pervolarakis (MTEN)

Female International Athlete: Sara Zaragoza (WBB)

Male Student-Athlete of the Year: Jeff Thies (MXC)

Female Student-Athlete of the Year: Taryn Rawlings (WXC)

Game of the Year: Men’s XC at Nationals