Emma Fuller and Drew Jones elected ASUP president and vice president

Maggie Blommer and Samone Watkins going to runoff election for director of communications

By Will Mulligan | April 2, 2021 12:34pm

Emma Fuller and Drew Jones won ASUP president and vice president with 95.34% of the vote.

Photo courtesy of Emma Fuller.

Updated April 8 at 5:33 p.m.

Samone Watkins was elected as ASUP's Director of Communications for the 2021-22 academic year. Watkins had a majority vote of 62.6%, according to current ASUP Vice President Tate Harris.

The Associated Students of the University of Portland (ASUP) elections concluded on April 4 to reveal next year’s ASUP Executive Board and Senate. The director of communications election was one of the most contested in recent history—and the only contested Executive Board position in the election—with six different candidates running. 

No candidate received 51% of the vote in the race for director of communications, requiring a run-off election for next week between Maggie Blommer and Samone Watkins. Voting for that election will begin on Tuesday, April 6 at 4 a.m. Blommer and Watkins took 27.61% and 27.32% of the vote respectively. 

Sophomore Emma Fuller and junior Drew Jones were elected ASUP president and vice president with 95.34% of the vote in an uncontested race. The pair is excited to get to work with and for the student body.

“It feels good to know we can get started with things now that the elections are finalized,” Jones said. “We’re extremely thankful for the opportunity that Emma and I have been given to lead UP. It's definitely a big deal and we don’t take this kind of thing lightly.”

Fuller has emphasized a focus on mental health and diversity and inclusion at UP, and hopes to make changes to benefit the UP community. 

“I'm not running for president to accomplish my own agenda,” Fuller said. “I'm also here to help other people. I just want people to know that I'm available for everyone, and that I want to make myself more available than maybe past presidents have.”

Despite many uncontested elections, there was a significant increase in participants running for ASUP positions.

“We had 60% more contested elections this year than last year with 20 positions and 38 candidates,” current ASUP Vice President Tate Harris said. “We love to see that kind of student engagement.”

Election Results:

Emma Fuller / Drew Jones - ASUP President and Vice President

Cole Stoker - Director of Finance

Samone Watkins / Maggie Blommer - Director of Communications RUNOFF REQUIRED

Jessica Cramm - Campus Program Board Director

Miguel Navarro, Lizzie Wisely - Sophomore Senators

Angela Wipfler, Beth Chvilicek - Junior Senators

Janiece Moore, Conor Heffernan - Senior Senators

Tim Arifdjanov, Erin McKibbin - College of Arts and Science Senators

Megan Meckey, Nathan Glass - Pamplin School of Business Senators

Daniel Mesquiti - School of Education Senator

Patricia Monsale, Klaryssa Yap - School of Nursing Senators

Natalie Tashchuk, Anabel Hilerio - Shiley School of Engineering Senators

Austin De Dios contributed to this story. He can be reached at dedios22@up.edu

Will Mulligan is a reporter with the Beacon. He can be reached at mulligan22@up.edu